A Couple of Top Hymns by a Toplady

Last Sunday I was in Bath at Widcombe Baptist Church where I heard a brilliant sermon on Genesis 28 – it hasn’t been uploaded yet but do check it out when it’s up at http://www.widcombebaptistchurch.org/sermons_2011.php. There we sang a couple of brilliant hymns by Augustus Montague Toplady (1740-1778 – he was only 38 when he died!). Wikipedia tells me that he was an Anglican cleric and hymn writer from Farnham in Surrey. He was apparently a major Calvinist (which really shines through his words) and an opponent of the famous John Wesley.

I reckon the extent of the ostentatiousness of his name is matched by the quality of his hymns – the theology in the two I mention below is just so good. The first we sang was the well known “Rock of Ages”:

Rock of Ages, cleft for me,
Let me hide myself in Thee;
Let the water and the blood,
From Thy riven side which flowed,
Be of sin the double cure;
Cleanse me from its guilt and power.

Not the labour of my hands
Can fulfill Thy law’s demands;
Could my zeal no respite know,
Could my tears forever flow,
All for sin could not atone;
Thou must save, and Thou alone.

Nothing in my hand I bring,
Simply to the cross I cling;
Naked, come to Thee for dress;
Helpless look to Thee for grace;
Foul, I to the fountain fly;
Wash me, Saviour, or I die.

While I draw this fleeting breath,
When mine eyes shall close in death,
When I soar to worlds unknown,
See Thee on Thy judgment throne,
Rock of Ages, cleft for me,
Let me hide myself in Thee.

The second hymn, “A Sov’reign Protector I Have”, is less well known but so helpful and true. We sang it to the tune of “A Debtor to Mercy Alone”, also a boss hymn.

A Sov’reign Protector I have,
Unseen, yet forever at hand,
Unchangeably faithful to save,
Almighty to rule and command.
He smiles, and my comforts abound;
His grace as the dew shall descend;
And walls of salvation surround
The soul He delights to defend.

Inspirer and Hearer of prayer,
Thou Shepherd and Guardian of Thine,
My all to Thy covenant care
I sleeping and waking resign.
If Thou art my Shield and my Sun,
The night is no darkness to me;
And fast as my moments roll on,
They bring me but nearer to Thee.

Kind Author, and ground of my hope,
Thee, Thee, for my God I avow;
My glad Ebenezer set up,
And own Thou hast helped me till now.
I muse on the years that are past,
Wherein my defense Thou hast proved;
Nor wilt Thou relinquish at last
A sinner so signally loved!

– Anyway, these are definitely words that will benefit us if we ponder them and thank God for their veracity. Enjoy.

Leave a comment